This is really helping

Hey guys! I’m new here. I’m a counseling psychology PsyD student. I have been struggling with social anxiety since I was a kid. I was diagnosed as a teen but never got proper therapy for it. I got self help from philosophy, psychology and science. I managed to get here without really tackling my anxiety (by having top grades and excellent exam scores for graduate school). Now in my first practicum I’m struggling a lot again so I decided to get this online therapy program. I’m a very rational person so this program made perfect sense to me. As a psychology student I get free therapy at my college campus but there were no available cognitive therapists and the sessions weren’t too productive for my situation. I’m just in my first week and use slow talk during my class last night and it made a world of difference. My self-consciousness and my automatic thoughts always made me freeze on important situations but last night it was different. My professor and classmates all said something about how different I sounded (in a good way). This is just the start!

Zensei,

Hello! Welcome to our community.

I’m glad to hear that the program is already helping you. It’s just a start, but a start is good, right? Each step is good. It’s certainly good to remember these positive moments, the progress we have made, when we feel down at other times, or when we experience setbacks.

Slow Talk is a powerful strategy in so many ways. It’s good that you already see that. It’s also good that you are already open to the therapy. This may sound simple. But, for many of us, there is a resistance to therapy. Perhaps for many, this therapy is proposed after a long list of failed attempts, years of lost hope. Sadly many get to a place where a deep ANT is that we will never overcome this. Again it’s irrational. We can, but that small strong thought deep down in there, and other reasons, helps to keep people from fully engaging with the therapy.