Being Comfortable in Group Settings

Does anyone else struggle with this as well? Its difficult for myself to be able to communicate with people in settings that have crowds a people wether its a work environment or out in public. I have had some experiences in group settings or even family settings that have not turned out so well. So therefore I try to avoid them as much as possible. This interferes with working, building friendships, and being able to feel comfortable around family members. The anxiety is so unbearable that it becomes nearly impossible to communicate with anyone. It has definitely took its toll over my life. I just want to be able to be myself around other people wether it be people that I know or someone that I am meeting for the first time. There has to be some sort of solution of being able to get over this.

Same @Mac27. When I’m at a birthday party for one of my cousins or otherwise, I often end up with my phone. When I’m in public with my friends, the same happens. I just feel the need to use it to lower my anxiety. People really try to talk to me and gets short, not so good replies. I just, conversations. Everyone with social anxiety wants to be a social person, right?

Sorry for this not being a helpful answer :confused:

Hi Mac27, I have a couple questions for you:

1. Do you feel the same anxiety in a private, 1-on-1 setting, as you do in these group settings? If no…

2. What is the context of these group environments? Is there at least one person that you already know?

One thing I’ve noticed in the therapy series is that Dr. Richards really stresses the point of taking steps one-at-a-time. If huge groups are too overwhelming, then don’t deal with them right away. Deal with smaller groups.